Jesus

As soon as my eyes opened this morning Hebrews 12:2 was predominant on my heart… looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

As I meditated on the verse I felt as though I had some thoughts worth writing in my blog.  I realize that acronyms are often over used, but I believe they are an effective way to enhance memory. From a leadership perspective most good leaders know that Jesus was hands down the greatest leader in all of history.  Let’s glean a few truths from the verse.

I want to take the name of Jesus and link it directly to Hebrews 12:2

J = Joy -the joy that was before Jesus was you and I. For many leaders,  joy (having fun) is a missing ingredient in the work place.

E = Endured – Every leader knows endurance is a top 5 ingredient for success.

S = Set – A set mind is focused.

U = Under Authority – The right hand is a symbol of authority.  Submission to authority is an incredible strength and a position of empowerment.

S = Sit – Some people never realize when the work is done.  There is a time to celebrate.  Projects do get completed.  Work days do to come to an end. It’s time to rest.

So let’s look unto Jesus for a few leadership tips. Remember to operate in joy, endure difficulties, set your goals, submit to your leaders, and don’t forget to rest.

I realize the simplicity of this blog, but inculcating the concepts can make a profound difference.

I’d love to have your feedback and input in the comments section below…

About pastortom2022

Because I thrive on serving and inspiring others, I have been a Pastor for over 25 years. I love being the husband of my wife, Charlotte, and the father of 3 great boys.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jesus

  1. revtrev says:

    Pastor Tom,

    Once again I love your wisdom. Acronyms often leave us with a deeper understanding of a simple word. I really appreciate the application of “sit.” That’s something I know how to start the day with, but I need the discipline of sitting at the end of the day and thanking God for it instead of thinking about everything that was left undone.

    Blessings on you.

  2. Jan Thompson and Linda Bischoff says:

    Jan and I have been having a rather stressful day at work today, as she set in my office I opened this blog and read aloud,…we were both moved to choose today to go home after work and enjoy the long week end, and rest in God. Also, we are going allow God to show us HIS amazing joy in all situations. even work.
    Thank you!!!

  3. Lori says:

    A little down when I arrived at work today, on a Saturday, knowing my husband and son are at home, and I’m not with them. Looked at the room set up for this evenings wedding and realized that after years of hoping that the staff had learned some of the small things that make big events work, still had happened. I trudged to my office and saw the blog. Read it and realized, I am in the position I am because of the gift of leadership and talents God has put within me, therefore being an example of joy in the workplace is my duty unto the Lord. Looking forward to a 2 day weekend for rest!
    Thanks Pastor Tom!

  4. Leroy says:

    Pastor Tom,
    Great reminder for us all; especially the rest part(S – SIT). That’s the hardest part for many who have the gift of service. Instead of resting, we’re looking for the next project to start on.

    Thanks for the reminder. For Jesus truly taught rest for busy people by example….

Leave a Reply

