Urgent or Necessary

Everyone knows this generation operates at a fast pace.  We have been convinced that  multi-tasking is good.  We build multi-purpose buildings and hire multi-use people. To say we are running fast is an understatement.  Life is just fast, and has multiple options, choices, and maybe I should add distractions.

One of my struggles as a leader is to determine what is necessary and most important. Most of us are familiar with the question; which is urgent and which is necessary? I have found that most of us struggle with the solution to this question.

I am of the philosophy that the urgent is rarely to control the necessary.

Fact is, the necessary is normally always the vital, and the urgent is constantly creating a  distraction.

Every morning I awake to the urgent and the necessary vying for control of my time and my choices.  I have found the urgent always seems more important.  The urgent normally brings short-term gain.  The urgent always has the greater emotional pull, and the urgent always creates an illusion of instant benefits.

The necessary are the deeper choices that bring the long-term benefits to your life.  A few examples of the necessary are exercise, personal development, spiritual growth, family wellness.  I will use exercise as my train of thought.

I normally exercise the first thing in the morning.  This choice is necessary because when I put it off, the demands of my day begin to consume my intention.  Every morning I awaken to the urgent.  Urgency screams clean the house, take out the trash,  load the washer, and more.

Are these things important? Yes.  But are they more important than the necessary? No!

If I choose the urgent things and fail to do the necessary, I miss the big picture.  You see, if I bow down to cleaning the house (urgent), and fail to exercise my body (necessary), eventually my health erodes and I lose the ability to keep my house clean.

I hope you can see the simplicity of the example. This can be applied to our spiritual life, personal development, or the well-being of our families.  If we live for the urgent, or by the demands of the urgent, we will miss the more important elements.

Take the time to look at your life, and determine if you are living for the urgent or the necessary?

I would love to hear your thoughts and comments.

About pastortom2022

Because I thrive on serving and inspiring others, I have been a Pastor for over 25 years. I love being the husband of my wife, Charlotte, and the father of 3 great boys.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

